Buying a car is an exhilarating experience and a substantial financial commitment. However, before you can enjoy the thrill of owning a car, you are required by law in 48 states (except New Hampshire and Virginia) in the United States to have some minimum auto insurance to drive a vehicle on public roads. As a resident of Ft. Worth, TX, you might be wondering – what is the minimum amount of car insurance in this state? Here is what to know;
Minimum Car Insurance Amount in Texas
Texas legislation requires all drivers to have adequate insurance for their vehicles. According to the state’s law, adequate car insurance means coverage of at least $30,000 for every injured person and not less than $60,000 per accident. Moreover, drivers in Texas must have property damage coverage of not less than $25,000. In the insurance and legal circles, the Texas minimum auto insurance requirements are defined as 30/60/25 in shorthand.
Unlike several other states, Texas doesn’t require its drivers to be insured against uninsured and underinsured drivers. Keep in mind that you are required by Texas state law to produce proof of insurance at the request of a police officer.
Is Minimum Insurance Sufficient?
At Main Street Independent Insurance Agencies Inc., we advise against settling for the state’s minimum car insurance requirements because it doesn’t provide sufficient coverage. Firstly, if you only have minimum insurance and get into an accident and damage your vehicle, you will have to pay out of pocket to repair it. Additionally, if the accident results in property damage exceeding $25,000, you have to pay for the extra damages out of pocket. Moreover, minimum vehicle insurance in Texas doesn’t protect against theft. You will need additional coverage like liability coverage, collision coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to have excellent car insurance protection.
Call Main Street Independent Insurance Agencies Inc. for more info on car insurance in Ft. Worth, TX.